Live At Club Mozambique by Dr. Lonnie Smith - 2 Vinyl - shop now at JazzEcho store

Dr. Lonnie Smith Live At Club Mozambique

Product Type: 2 Vinyl
Our price: 32,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

Hammond organ master’s live album. Originally recorded at The Club Mozambique, Detroit, Michigan, on 21st May 1970 but not released until 1995. Showcasing six funky, riff-based Smith originals plus unique takes on Sly & The Family Stone’s ‘Thank You (Falletinme Be Mice Elf Again)’ and Victor Feldman’s ‘Seven Steps To Heaven’. Includes photography by Francis Wolff and liner notes by musician/writer Bob Belden. Allmusic's Richie Unterberger said: "It's odd that Blue Note decided to sit on it for so long, because it ranks as one of Lonnie's better sets. The band, featuring George Benson on guitar, is relaxed and funky without being in your face about it, and unlike much soul-jazz of the time, most of the material is original.

BLUE NOTE CLASSIC VINYL EDITION: stereo, all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal, padded inner sleeve.


A1 I Can't Stand It                         

A2 Expressions                               

B1 Scream                                       

B3 Play It Back                               

C1 Love Bowl                                 

C2 Peace of Mind                          

D1 I Want to Thank You              

D2 Seven Steps to Heaven

Lonnie Smith (organ), George Benson (guitar), Dave Hubbard (tenor saxophone), Ronnie Cuber (baritone saxophone), Joe Dukes (drums)