Introducing by Johnny Griffin - Vinyl - shop now at JazzEcho store

Johnny Griffin Introducing

Product Type: Vinyl
Our price: 28,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

Tenor saxophonist Johnny Griffin blew out of Chicago and made his debut album for Blue Note Records in 1956 steering a nimble quartet with pianist Wynton Kelly, bassist Curly Russell, and drummer Max Roach through a fantastic set of originals and standards. From the blistering opener “Mil Dew” to the loping “Chicago Calling” and bluesy “Nice and Easy” Griffin’s staggering technical ability and buoyant swing is readily apparent at every twist and turn. Griffin would follow with two more standout Blue Note albums—A Blowing Session featuring John Coltrane and The Congregation—the next year.

BLUE NOTE CLASSIC VINYL EDITION: mono, all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal, padded inner sleeves.


A1 Mil Dew 3;55

A2 Chicago Calling 5:35

A3 These Foolish Things 5:09

A4 The Boy Next Door 4:53

B1 Nice And Easy 4:21

B2 It's All Right With Me 5:00

B3 Lover Man 7:52


Tenor Saxophone: Johnny Griffin, Piano: Wynton Kelly, Drums: Max Roach, Bass: Curly Russell