Takin' Off by Herbie Hancock - Vinyl - shop now at JazzEcho store

Herbie Hancock Takin' Off

Product Type: Vinyl
Our price: 25,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

Herbie Hancock’s classic debut album. Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, on 28th May 1962. Featuring a truly impressive quintet of Freddie Hubbard (trumpet), Dexter Gordon (tenor), Butch Warren (bass) and Billy Higgins (drums). Rooted firmly in hard bop but also showcasing the exquisite ballad ‘Alone And I’. Features the all-time classic Herbie standard ‘Watermelon Man’, a top 100 pop hit for Herbie and #10 hit for Mongo Santamaria. Produced by Alfred Lion. The famous cover art was designed and photographed by Reid Miles

BLUE NOTE CLASSIC VINYL EDITION: mono, all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal, padded inner sleeves.



A1 Watermelon Man 7:09

A2 Three Bags Full 5:27

A3 Empty Pockets 6:09

B1 The Maze 6:45

B2 Driftin' 6:58

B3 Alone And I 6:25


Piano: Herbie Hancock, Trumpet: Freddie Hubbard, Tenor Saxophone: Dexter Gordon, Bass: Butch Warren, Drums: Billy Higgins