A Night At Birdland, Vol. 1 by Art Blakey Quintet - Vinyl - shop now at JazzEcho store

Art Blakey Quintet A Night At Birdland, Vol. 1

Product Type: Vinyl
Our price: 27,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

Since "A Night At Birdland" was added to the Library of Congress' National Recording Registry in 2013, the "cultural, historical and aesthetic significance" of this album has been highly official. Recorded in 1954 with Clifford Brown, Lou Donaldson, Horace Silver and Curley Russell, Blakey's blue-note classic has indeed earned this distinction. The album contains brilliant recordings of Dizzy Gillespie's "A Night In Tunisia" as well as the three Silver compositions "Split Kick", "Quicksilver" and "Mayreh". And also the band announcement of Pee Wee Marquette, that US3 sampled almost 40 years later for their club hit "Cantaloop (Flip Fantasia)".


A0. Introduction By Pee Wee Marquette
A1. Split Kick
A2. Once In A While
A3. Quicksilver
B0. Introduction By Art Blakey
B1. A Night In Tunisia
B2. Mayreh

Art Blakey - Drums / Curly Russell - Bass / Horace Silver - Piano / Lou Donaldson - Saxophone / Clifford Brown - Trumpet