At's Delight by Art Taylor - Vinyl - shop now at JazzEcho store

Art Taylor At's Delight

Product Type: Vinyl
Our price: 25,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

Terrific 1960 album from the drummer probably best known for his work with Miles Davis, John Coltrane and Thelonious Monk, and also his classic jazz book ‘Notes And Tones’. His one and only Blue Note album as leader. Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio on 6th August 1960. A fascinating collision of bebop, post-bop and Latin styles showcasing one Taylor original (‘Cookoo And Fungi’) plus superb versions of Thelonious Monk/Kenny Clarke’s ‘Epistrophy’, Denzil Best’s ‘Move’ (famously recorded on Miles Davis’s Birth Of The Cool), Kenny Dorham’s ‘High Seas’ and ‘Blue Interlude’ and John Coltrane’s ‘Syeeda’s Song Flute’. Produced by Alfred Lion. Includes a Reid Miles cover, plus photography by Francis Wolff and liner notes by Ira Gitler.

BLUE NOTE CLASSIC VINYL EDITION: stereo, all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal, padded inner sleeve.


A1 Syeeda's Song Flute

A2 Epistrophy

A3 Move

B1 High Seas

B2 Cookoo & Fungi

B3 Blue Interlude

Art Taylor (drums), Stanley Turrentine (tenor saxophone), Wynton Kelly (piano), Paul Chambers (bass), Carlos “Patato” Valdes (congas), Dave Burns (trumpet)