Nigeria by Grant Green - Tone Poet Vinyl - shop now at JazzEcho store
Nigeria by Grant Green - Tone Poet Vinyl - shop now at JazzEcho store

Grant Green Nigeria

Product Type: Tone Poet Vinyl
Original price: 44,99 Our price: 37,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, on 13th January 1962 but not originally released until 1980. Classic ‘lost’ hard-bop album from the guitar legend. Featuring an all-star band of Sonny Clark (piano), Art Blakey (drums) and Sam Jones (bass). Repertoire includes Sonny Rollins’ ‘Airegin’, a brilliant take on Ira & George Gershwins’ ‘It Ain’t Necessarily So’, Cole Porter’s ‘I Concentrate On You’ and Kern/Hammerstein’s ‘The Song Is You’. Produced by BN co-founder Alfred Lion. Liner notes by renowned pianist/vocalist Ben Sidran and session photography by Steve Smith.

Blue Note Records’ Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series is produced by Joe Harley and features all-analog, mastered-from-the-original-master-tapes, 180g audiophile vinyl reissues in deluxe gatefold packaging. Mastering is by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) and vinyl is manufactured at Record Technology Incorporated (RTI).


A1. Airegin- 7:32
A2. It Ain't Necessarily So - 10:22
B1. I Concentrate on You - 5:48
B2. The Things We Did Last Summer - 5:56
B3. The Song Is You - 7:46

Grant Green (guitar), Sonny Clark (piano), Sam Jones (bass), Art Blakey (drums)