When There Is Love by Abbey Lincoln, Hank Jones - 2LP - shop now at JazzEcho store
When There Is Love by Abbey Lincoln, Hank Jones - 2LP - shop now at JazzEcho store

Abbey Lincoln, Hank Jones When There Is Love

Product Type: 2LP
Our price: 41,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

In her intimate 1992 recording with jazz piano legend Hank Jones, Abbey Lincoln contemplates the subject of love, sounding more optimistic than usual. About "When There is Love" Lincoln noted in 1992: “I have a sombre outlook and assessment of the world in which we live, but I also have love, love for the beautiful man that makes life bearable in an otherwise unbearable world. So this is my offering on the altar of conjugal love.” She offers highly personalized interpretations of four of her originals and ten standards, among which Duke Ellington's "Black Butterfly," "The Nearness of You," "You Came a Long Way from St. Louis," Fats Waller's "Jitterbug Waltz" and "You Won't Forget Me" are most memorable. A truly moving testament from two of jazz's finest artists.


A1.  A Part Of Me / There Are Such Things 4:36
A2. When There Is Love 4:44
A3. Black Butterfly 3:28
A4. Angel Face 5:38

B1. The Nearness Of You 5:40
B2. Can't Help Singing 2:32
B3. Close Your Eyes 3:08
B4. I Should Care 5:46

C1. You Came A Long Way From St. Louis 3:57
C2. C'est si bon 5:44
C3. The Jitterbug Waltz 3:16

D1. Time After Time 4:34
D2. You Won't Forget Me 5:15
D3. First Came A Woman 5:41


This 140-gram vinyl is the first international vinyl reissue, pressed at Pallas, and is presented in a wide-spine, single-sleeve jacket.