Current information on shipping (click here)

Over The Years by Abbey Lincoln - 2 Vinyl - shop now at JazzEcho store

Abbey Lincoln Over The Years

Product Type: 2 Vinyl
Our price: 39,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

Recorded in 2000, mostly in New York, Over the Years is aimed at summing up Abbey Lincoln's long career and is likely her best album. Performing in quartet and accompanied, on some tracks, by the tenor saxophone of Joe Lovano or the trumpet of Jerry Gonzalez, the singer delivers, as usual, a tour de chant punctuated by her singular, nonchalant, haranguing and poetic voice. Borrowing from her own compositions or standards, such as Michel Legrand's "Windmills Of Your Mind", Abbey Lincoln continues her personal story of music and song. Abbey sings to her people, the people of blues, gospel and jazz, as if the work songs of yesteryear had never ceased to resonate within her. A subtlety of interpretation that culminates in the apotheosis of an a cappella "Tender As A Rose".


A1. When The Lights Go On Again 
A2. Black Berry Blossoms 
A3. Somos Novios 
B1. A Heart Is Not A Toy 
B2. I Could Sing It For A Song
B3. I'm Not Supposed To Know 

C1. Windmills Of Your Mind 
C2. Lucky To Be Me 
D1. What Will Tomorrow Bring 
D2. Tender As A Rose