Thunder by Stephan Micus - Vinyl - shop now at JazzEcho store

Stephan Micus Thunder

Product Type: Vinyl
Our price: 29,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

Stephan Micus is a unique musician and composer. He collects and studies instruments from all around the world and creates his own musical journeys with them. This is his 25th solo album for ECM and its sound is dominated by the four-metre long Tibetan dung chen trumpet, an instrument he has recently learned and is using for the first time. It was the thunderous sound of this instrument that led to the album’s name and its nine tracks celebrating deities around the world. “I dedicate this music to the big family of thundergods around the world, humbly hoping that – when they hear it – their destructive powers will be somehow pacified,” he says. It features instruments – all played by Stephan Micus – from Tibet, India, Burma, Borneo, Siberia, Japan, South America, Gambia, Namibia, Sweden and Bavaria.The album will be released to coincicde with Stephan’s 70th birthday January 19.


01. A Song For Thor
02. A Song For Raijin
03. A Song For Armazi
04. A Song For Shango
05. A Song For Vajrapani
06. A Song For Leigong
07. A Song For Zeus
08. A Song For Ihskur
09. A Song For Perun