Blue Train: The Complete Masters by John Coltrane - CD - shop now at JazzEcho store

John Coltrane Blue Train: The Complete Masters

Product Type: CD
Our price: 16,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

The Coltrane classic now as ”Complete Masters” 2-CD-set with unreleased material! On September 15, 1957, John Coltrane went into Rudy Van Gelder’s studio and created a 40-plus-minute masterwork that stands as one of the greatest jazz records of all time. “Blue Train” is a pioneering five-song, blues-steeped, hard bop outing that exhilarates with pockets of brawn and poetry, excursions of ferocity and finesse, stretches of blazing velocity, and soulful tenderness. To mark the 65th anniversary of the album’s recording, “Blue Train” is now not only available in two separate editions as part of the Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Series but also as “Complete Masters” 2-CD-set containing the original album in stereo plus alternate and incomplete unreleased takes. The 16-page booklet features never-before-seen session photos by Francis Wolff and essay by Coltrane expert Ashley Kahn. Jewel box.



  1. Blue Train
  2. Moment’s Notice
  3. Locomotion
  4. I’m Old Fashioned
  5. Lazy Bird
  6. Blue Train (False Start)
  7. Blue Train (Take 7)
  8. Moment’s Notice (Alternate Take 4)
  9. Lazy Bird (Take 1)
  10. Blue Train (Alternate Take 8)
  11. Moment’s Notice (Alternate Take 5A –Incomplete)
  12. Lazy Bird (Alternate Take 2)