Odyssey of Iska by Wayne Shorter - Tone Poet Vinyl - shop now at JazzEcho store
Odyssey of Iska by Wayne Shorter - Tone Poet Vinyl - shop now at JazzEcho store

Wayne Shorter Odyssey of Iska

Product Type: Tone Poet Vinyl
Our price: 39,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

The winds of change were blowing through Wayne Shorter’s life and career in 1970. The saxophonist had just left Miles Davis’ group and was soon to form his collective fusion band Weather Report. His music was evolving too as he began to delve into his own unique fusion explorations on his previous two Blue Note recordings Super Novaand Moto Grosso Feio. Recorded in August 1970, the mesmerizing Odyssey of Iska would be the last release of Shorter’s early Blue Note period. The album was a tribute to his daughter Iska—who had been born the year before with severe brain damage—with four immersive Shorter compositions portraying a variety of moods: “Wind,” “Storm,” “Calm,” and “Joy.” The album’s centerpiece is an extended version of Bobby Thomas’ Brazilian influenced piece “De Pois do Amor, o Vazio” (After Love, Emptiness), foreshadowing Shorter’s growing interest in Brazilian music which he would explore further in the years to come. Shorter’s soprano and tenor saxophones are the lone horns heard on the album which featured Gene Bertoncini on guitar, David Friedman on vibraphone and marimba, Ron Carter and Cecil McBee on bass, and Alphonse Mouzon, Billy Hart, and Frank Cuomo contributing drums and percussion.

BLUE NOTE TONE POET EDITION: Stereo, produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original analogue master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at RTI, and packaged in a single sleeve with deluxe tip-on jacket. 

Odyssey of Iska (1971)

A1. Wind
A2. Storm
A3. Calm

B1. De Pois Do Amour, O Vazio (After Love, Emptiness)
B2. Joy

Wayne Shorter: Tenor & Soprano Saxophone / Cecil McBee: Bass / Ron Carter - Bass / Gene Bertoncini: Guitar / Dave Friedman: Vibraphone, Marimba / Billy Hart: Drums / Frank Cuomo: Percussion, Drums / Alphonse Mouzon: Drums