Caramba by Lee Morgan - Vinyl - shop now at JazzEcho store

Lee Morgan Caramba

Product Type: Vinyl
Original price: 28,99 Our price: 24,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

In May 1968 when he recorded his album Caramba, trumpeter Lee Morgan was still a couple months away from his 30th birthday, which makes the fact that this was his 23rd Blue Note recording all the more astounding. Morgan was a full-fledged master, his technical prowess on the horn matched by the emotional depth of his playing, and a composer who could conjure different moods and styles with his writing.

From the irrepressible groove of the title track to the intricate post-bop lines of “Suicide City” and “Cunning Lee” to the joyful “Soulita” and the easy swing of “Helen’s Ritual” this set of Morgan originals features Bennie Maupin on tenor saxophone, Cedar Walton on piano, Reggie Workman on bass, and Billy Higgins on drums.

BLUE NOTE CLASSIC VINYL EDITION: mono, all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal, padded inner sleeves.



A1 Caramba

A2 Suicide City

B1 Cunning Lee

B2 Soulita

B3 Helen’s Ritual


Trumpet: Lee Morgan, Tenor Sax: Bennie Maupin, Piano: Cedar Walton, Bass: Reggie Workman, Drums: Billy Higgins