The Prophetic Herbie Nichols Vol. 1 & 2 by Herbie Nichols - Vinyl - shop now at JazzEcho store

Herbie Nichols The Prophetic Herbie Nichols Vol. 1 & 2

Product Type: Vinyl
Our price: 30,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

Blue Note founder Alfred Lion considered pianist Herbie Nichols to be a composer who was as original and important as Thelonious Monk. Little-known in his time, recognition has grown in recent years for Nichols’ unique compositions like “The Third World,” “2300 Skidoo,” and “Step Tempest” which were presented on The Prophetic Herbie Nichols, Vol. 1 and Vol. 2 featuring Al McKibbon on bass and Art Blakey on drums.

The two 10” LPs are combined here onto a single 12” LP presented in a gatefold jacket with the Vol. 1 cover on the front, the Vol. 2 cover on the back, and a Francis Wolff photo of Nichols and the liner notes on the inside.

This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.


Blue Note / 1955

  1. The Third World (SIDE A)
  2. Step Tempest (SIDE A)
  3. Dance Line (SIDE A)
  4. Blue Chopsticks (SIDE A)
  5. Double Exposure (SIDE A)
  6. Cro-Magnon Nights (SIDE A)
  7. Amoeba's Dance (SIDE B)
  8. Crisp Day (SIDE B)
  9. 2300 Skiddoo (SIDE B)
  10. It Didn't Happen (SIDE B)
  11. Shuffle Montgomery (SIDE B)
  12. Brass Rings (SIDE B)

Herbie Nichols (piano);

Al McKibbon (bass); Art Blakey (drums)