The Black Saint And The Sinner Lady by Charles Mingus - Vinyl - shop now at JazzEcho store

Charles Mingus The Black Saint And The Sinner Lady

Product Type: Vinyl
Sold out!

Long-considered Charles Mingus’ masterpiece, The Black Saint And The Sinner Lady represents high-water marks in both jazz composition and orchestration. An essential work in the history of jazz, this extended work has been performed as a ballet and features original liner notes by Mingus’ psychotherapist.

It’s an intense, totally distinctive mash-up of large-ensemble jazz, folk and Ellingtonian influences featuring Rolf Ericson and Richard Willians (trumpets), Quentin Jackson (trombone), Don Butterfield (tuba), Jerome Richardson (sp baritone and flute), Dick Hafer (tn sax and flute), Charlie Mariano (alto sax), Jaki Byard (piano), Jay Berliner (guitar), and Dannie Richmond (drums)

Verve’s Acoustic Sounds Series features transfers from analog tapes and remastered 180-gram vinyl in deluxe gatefold packaging.


  1. Solo Dancer

(Stop! And Listen, Sinner Jim Whitney!) (Side A)

  1. Duet Solo Dancers

(Heart's Beat And Shades In Physical Embraces) (Side A)

  1. Group Dancers

({Soul Fusion} Freewoman And Oh This Freedom's Slave Cries) (Side A)

  1. Trio And Group Dancers

(Stop! Look! And Sing Songs Of Revolutions!) (Side B)

  1. Single Solos And Group Dance

(Saint And Sinner Join In Merriment On Bottle Front) (Side B)

  1. Group And Solo Dance

(Of Love, Pain, And Passioned Revolt, Then Farewell, My Beloved, 'til It's Freedom Day) (Side B)