Moment Of Truth by Gerald Wilson - Vinyl - shop now at JazzEcho store

Gerald Wilson Moment Of Truth

Product Type: Vinyl
Our price: 46,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

In the early 1960s, the great composer, arranger, and bandleader Gerald Wilson began recording a series of spectacular albums for Pacific Jazz that stand as the most significant of his lengthy career. The second of those albums, 1962’s Moment of Truth, features Wilson’s dynamic big band on an action-packed nine-song set (seven of which were composed by Wilson) with highlights including the swaggering blues of the title track, the irrepressible Latin groove of “Viva Tirado,” and a fleet-footed version of “Milestones” by Miles Davis.

This stereo Tone Poet Vinyl Edition was produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original analog master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at RTI, and packaged in a deluxe tip-on jacket.


Moment of Truth

Blue Note / 1962

  1. Viva Tirado (SIDE A)
  2. Moment Of Truth (SIDE A)
  3. Patterns (SIDE A)
  4. Teri (SIDE A)
  5. Nancy Jo (SIDE A)
  6. Milestones (SIDE B)
  7. Latino (SIDE B)
  8. Josefina (SIDE B)
  9. Emerge (SIDE B)

Gerald Wilson (leader); Bud Shank, Joe Maini (alto sax);

Don Raffell, Jack Nimitz (baritone sax); Harold Land, Teddy Edwards (tenor sax);

Jimmy Bond (bass); Joe Pass (guitar); Jack Wilson (piano);

Modesto Duran (congas); Mel Lewis (drums);

Bob Edmondson, Bob Knight, Frank Strong, Kenny Shroyer, Lester Robertson, Lou Blackburn (trombone);

Al Porcino, Carmell Jones, Freddie Hill, John Audino, Jules Chaikin (trumpet)